top of page
  • Writer's pictureM

Cancelled Embryo Transfer Cycle

Coming off 2 months of medically induced menopause threw my sanity into a tornado of self-doubt, hormonal mood swings and fear. What if all the torture being in menopause was for nothing? What if this next transfer fails? What if this next transfer works?


As soon as the 2 months of menopause was over, I began daily doses of Lupron injections (the same med that put me in menopause, but just a much smaller dose) to help keep the endometriosis from not flaring up. Five days after coming off menopause I went in for my baseline ultrasound and and blood work. We wanted to make sure all was looking good (ovaries were quiet & no cysts and my uterine lining was thin) and it was. My lining was nice and thin (3.11mm) with a triple stripe pattern - just what we wanted to see! What we weren’t expecting to see if fluid in my uterus. The nurse said the fluid could be either 1) a pending period, 2) mucus or 3) another type of fluid. Whatever it is, we need it gone before our next monitoring appointment. From this appointment, I was given the go ahead to start meds (4 oral pills of estrogen, 1 vaginal pill of estrogen and letrozole).


Luckily, at the next monitoring appointment, the fluid in my uterus was gone and my lining was at 7mm and triple stripe. We were moving forward exactly as planned! And then the third monitoring appointment happened a week later and while I had the best lining I have ever had (8.2mm and triple stripe), out of nowhere appeared 3 cysts in my uterus. Usually cysts would show up in the beginning of a cycle, so we were all (including my doctor) confused why they were showing up so late in the cycle. The plan was to come back in a few days (the day I was scheduled to start progesterone injections) and have my doctor do the ultrasound and check to see if the cysts disappeared. It was a long shot, but all I could do those next few days was try not to obsess over the what-ifs and hope that we will be okay to move forward.



Uterine Lining with Triple Stripe Pattern

Uterine Lining with Cysts (Black "Holes")

CANCELLED


After 2 months of menopause and a month of transfer prep and meds, our fourth embryo cycle was cancelled. The cysts were still in my uterus when my doctor checked and they would not want to move forward unless everything looked perfect. And while we got that and felt the same deep down, it didn’t take away the sting of a cancelled cycle...something we have never had to deal with before. So just like that, we were having to think about starting over again. I was prescribed Provera to take for 10 days to help induce a period. Flush the system out and try again.


Just a never ending journey of hurry up and wait...

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page